Red, White, and Blew – a poem styled after Adrienne Rich

A man with silver hair, pointy nose, and beady black eyes
crawled into her bed
and rested his dry, cracked hand on her
newly impregnated belly.
He warned her of hemorrhage
and a lifetime of scars.
Comparing her to an abandoned mine:
Empty. Hollow. Scraped. Guilty.

That same man
skipped to school with children
swearing he’d never leave
any of them behind,
bragging to them about
the price of bullets, bombs, burials
and the availability of A-K47s.
What’s so wrong with a little
white lie?

Over the course of four years
this man has been to bed with men,
too. Eager to criticize technique
of the right amount of tongue
and just a little teeth.
“Suck, don’t blow,” they instruct
but he tells them they
don’t have the right.

**Author’s Note:
This was originally written in 2004 when I knew I’d suffer 4 more years of Bush.

Published by

gohumble

A dork at heart. I cook. I eat. I vegan. I take pictures. I write. iPhone. I love. I am.

Leave a comment