Opposites Attract… a Reaction to Carrie Prejean’s Take on Marriage

Carrie “Beauty Queen” Prejean favors “opposite” marriage. You know what? So do I, really. In this theatrical production called, “Life,” my partner stars opposite me. There, I’ve said it. I actually like “opposite” marriage. Yes, we’re both men and perhaps not the preferred “opposites” of “Beauty Queen” Prejean, but opposite enough that our relationship works. Did you expect me to be more conservative in my definition of “opposite”, really?

We met in 2005 on the 4th of July. There were literal fireworks that night. And we decided then, without saying it, that this really could work. Two days and one phone call later, we agreed to read the script to get an idea of what this romantic comedy would be all about.

In the beginning we searched out every possible similarity, getting into character and exploration of our prospective roles. Stage fright passed after that first year of demonstrating our character traits: reliability, trust, faithfulness, loyalty, and commitment.

So what makes us good at playing opposite roles? The fact that I like Bjork, while he’s into the Bee Gees. I like to read books, while he enjoys getting his fingernails dirty in the garden. I get poetry while his preference is for sci-fi. He’s tall and thin and far more fit, while I have the disposition to pick up a book and sit. I like sushi and surf and turf, while he’s strictly turf; charred. He’s got a large social circle, while I’m more of an observer.

I would like to thank Carrie Prejean, for reminding me just how important an “opposite marriage” truly is. My partner and I, in the event that Colorado joins the other states recognizing gay marriage, would wed. We’d be honored to share our “opposite” marriage with our supportive families, our friends, and our government. Now if I could just manage to change Carrie Prejean’s mind on the whole matter. Is “opposite” marriage to her some sort of juvenile take on marriage – you know, the way that “backwards day” in elementary school meant wearing your pants backwards. Maybe, just maybe, Carrie “Beauty Queen” Prejean actually favors gay marriage – she just had it backwards.

Click HERE for News related to Carrie Prejean (Chicago Tribune)

Published by

gohumble

A dork at heart. I cook. I eat. I vegan. I take pictures. I write. iPhone. I love. I am.

One thought on “Opposites Attract… a Reaction to Carrie Prejean’s Take on Marriage”

Leave a comment